Press "Enter" to skip to content

Kejriwal to take oath as Delhi’s chief minister Feb 16

Arvind Kejriwal, who spearheaded Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) to a remarkable victory in Delhi assembly election decimating the Bharatiya Janata Party, will take oath as the chief minister on February 16 for a third consecutive term.
The swearing-in ceremony will take place at Ramlila Maidan from where Prime Minister Narendra Modi had launched the BJP’s poll campaign in January.
Kejriwal met Delhi’s Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal this morning for about 15 minutes and discussed the oath-taking ceremony, reports our New Delhi correspondent.
AAP won 62 of the 70 seats in the Delhi assembly in the face of a high-voltage campaign by BJP which fielded a battery of ministers and Chief Ministers in its campaign spearheaded by Union Home Minister Amit Shah.
However, BJP was confined to a single-digit seat tally 8 but registered an improvement on its 2015 tally of three.

Congress, which ruled Delhi for 15 years till 2013, won zero seats, the same as in 2015.
Kejriwal had said AAP’s victory signalled the victory of a “new kind of politics”. “People of Delhi have given a message that they will vote for schools, mohalla clinics, 24-hour electricity and free water. This is a great message for the country,” he said on Tuesday evening, addressing a huge crowd at the AAP office.

Comments are closed.